14 Comments

My work this year is to create art from a place of personal liberation as a middle age lady that went way too long playing by the rules (that got me nowhere smh). I firmly believe that if I step into my own revolution, it will inspire others to do the same. When we step into our own power and walk in alignment with our authentic selves, it actually empowers the collective! I look forward to reading your work in 2024! Happy New Year’s ✨

Expand full comment
author
Jan 2Author

Thank you for reading and thank you for sharing your work, Lia! Happy New Year!

Expand full comment

I’m re-envisioning and recreating too. I have a book of poetry coming out in March (3rd in a trilogy) about that very thing. 🩵

Expand full comment
author

Congratulations, Marla! Can’t wait to get into it.

Expand full comment
Jan 4Liked by ezra

The work has not changed. My task is to sharp my focus into a laser point, so I can do the work more wholeheartedly and consistently.

Expand full comment
author

Your work is great work. I’m rooting for you big homie

Expand full comment

Really enjoyed this, brother. Especially the sentiment that we, all of us, are not helpless spectators; we are participants with the power to effect change on scales of all sizes. Thank you for kicking this year off with hope and action.

The other part that stood out to me was presenting frames or lenses to more sharply understand and focus on the work. That makes me think of something we can discuss more offline, regarding contextualizing work for others vs. just releasing the work and seeing how people interpret it.

Anyway, my main work for this year is to focus most on that which serves me while maintaining a strong sense of shelf and sharing that with the world.

Thank you again for your words and heart, homie.

Expand full comment
author
Jan 4Author

Thanks for the thoughtful reply, good brother! Your work for the year is great work. I'm excited to see you continue to be great, continue to be you.

Looking forward to the offline chat.

Expand full comment
Jan 2Liked by ezra

This is clever AF. I love this! Show us more writing in 2024, sir. I'm trying to pull myself out of these damn holes I dug for myself in the field....to create rather than consume. I feel more myself when I do. <333

Expand full comment
author
Jan 2Author

Thanks, Kim. This year, may you continue to be more of yourself and feel more like yourself. That is, may your field be whole (not just holes).

Expand full comment
Jan 2Liked by ezra

My work will be on my personal well being. I have focused much of my life on financial success but I have skipped the mental health work..

Expand full comment
author
Jan 2Author

That's work we can all use. Glad you're prioritizing well being.

Expand full comment

I love this! Not least because of his use of the concept/ metaphor of the “field,” for obvious reasons. ;) Thank you for sharing, and I’m excited to follow you on here!

Expand full comment
author
Jan 2Author

Thank you so much, Susannah. And I'm happy to that our "fields" could be in conversation. :)

Expand full comment